Tags

, , , , , ,

image

Lest a word be left unsaid
Thou knowest how to keep me starved or fed
And in any circumstance of wealth or woe
Thine hands will hold me fast or let me go

In your hands, I see a warm welcome
Cordiality and company so awesome
In your hands, I see love’s extension
A pat to the back and fraternal comprehension

In your hands, I see true concern
Removing my worries and helping me learn
In your hands, I see benevolence
Riches for sustenance of life’s essence

But lo! The days art already nigh
My words’ll be summarised with a sigh
For virtue is entangled with vanity
Hatred is preferred to love and humility

In your hands, I see a refusal
Thou standest aloof in my pain so brutal
In your hands, I see denial
Shoving me away in times so crucial

In your hands, I see contempt and neglect
With scorn I am jeered at for my defect
In your hands, I see selfishness
Twisted fate of life lived in unfairness

Lest a word be left unheard
Thou knowest how to tickle or pull the beard
And in any situation of friend or foe
Thine hands will hold me fast or let me go

Luke O. Ogar

